Autumn: At the Creek, Within the Forest

Captions will be below pictures.

Autumn creeps up on us here, slowly. Last weekend it was still warm, very sunny, and glorious. It took some doing to get me down the embankment, and later back up. The hubster helped, and we both slipped on wet leaves a little. I have trouble getting the camera to focus, and I have a bit of a tremor. It doesn’t matter as much in the reflection pictures, but I just wish those foreground leaves were in sharp focus.

The reds and greens on the water are reflections from the leaves, the blues are from the sky.

A month or so earlier, these are some of the first signs that it’s late summer and fall is coming. American Beauty Berries, growing wild, light fading towards dusk; not far from the creek.

At the very edge of the water, the hubster had to hold onto me while I shot photos, to make sure I didn’t end up in the creek.

The surrounding forest.

On another day, not far from the creek.

The Sweetgum leaves did not land all together like this. I gathered them because I’m taken with the various ways their colors change.

I also like the ways they curl. They land as though they’ve been to a dance.
Happy Thanksgiving!

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Creeks, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Autumn: At the Creek, Within the Forest

  1. 2ndhalfolife says:

    I love the photos you have of the creek in your blog! They are like paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The colors you captured in the reflections of the water are fabulous!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Autumn, Creekside | Catwoods Porch Party

  4. Max Keene says:

    Thanks for the wonderful essay. Peace, Trice

    Like

  5. bhartisingh says:

    You write it very beautifully and Nice pictures!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

