Black Cats in Sun and Shade: A Painter’s Eye View

I’m reblogging my earlier essay about black cats today because it’s Black Cat Appreciation Day. It includes a few ideas for taking photos of black cats.

Catwoods Porch Party

My Little Buddy, who goes by several names My Little Buddy, who goes by several names

or, The Natural Black Cat

Update: See 2nd photo below, added April 21, 2014; actually taken after any of the other photos in this post.

Over the years we’ve had fourteen domestic felines; five of those have been black cats. They’re glorious, purrsome, and chirpsome; they make me call out “Hey, sweetness”! They’re major snugglers, and adept communicators; I’ve had deep rapport with black kitties. My imagination always sings when I see a black furry creature lounging in the house, busy making sheen from sunlight. Often reported to be some of the most affectionate cats, they walk up with eyes bright and loving, do head-bumps, and always work a takeover of human hearts. My own ‘house panthers’ have been thoughtful muses, taking up lap vantage points at the drawing table and the computer. I adore black cats! I’m tellin’ black cat stories here…

View original post 1,834 more words

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Art, Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Black Cats in Sun and Shade: A Painter’s Eye View

  1. Kev says:

    Gorgeous!

    Like

  2. We had a panther-like black cat when I was growing up. I called him “Jawa”, after the creatures in Star Wars who are like black shadows except for their shining eyes. However, my father nicknamed him Blackness, and that is the name that stuck. He lived for 14 years and my parents took him with them when they moved from New Zealand to Australia.

    Like

    • Catwoods says:

      Growing up with a beautiful black kitty must have been a great experience, Caron! Those are both good names! I didn’t have any cats until I was grown.

      Like

      • We always had cats as kids. Buttons, Bomb, Loopy, Ringtail (Abdul), Other One (Omar), Fat Ginger (Sandy), Thin Grey (original name forgotten). My aunty had a white cat, and my dad called it White Fright. Now I have the most adorable tortoiseshell named Lucy Locket. Sadly, Dad’s no longer around to Dad-ise the name, but he’d probably call her Patchwork or some such.

        Like

  3. awax1217 says:

    We had two black cats. One Purrey and the other Murray. Both have passed on. They were close to twenty years old. Such is time and the love of cats.

    Like

    • Catwoods says:

      I’m glad you had the joy of having black cats, awax1217, but sad to hear about their losses, as well as the loss of your recent kitty. You are right, we do have to face these losses as cats do not live as long as we do. Our little guy who was in the pictures for this post transitioned to the Rainbow Bridge in September at the age of nearly 19; we miss him so much.

      Like

  4. Kev says:

    You can’t beat them… they’re so elegant.

    Like

  5. The human also loves black kats… But since adopting me, torties have become her favorite!

    I wake her up in the mornings with head bumps (or a nose nibble if she insists on “sleeping in”), I follow her all over the house (making sure she doesn’t try to take off to the Creature’s house), I hop up on her lap fur snuggles when she’s watching tv, I cry when she leaves and greet her at the door when she comes home with my tail vibrating)!!

    And I tuck her in every night by snuggling (on ‘my’ memory foam pillow between her and human #2)- and putting my paws and face up to her face on her pillow and purring
    – (and kneading my paws)- until she falls asleep!!

    She loves all my special “I-love-you’s”…& when she goes in the bathroom, I sit outside the for and scratch on it until she lets me in!! 😻

    Like

Leave a Reply

