Cat in Winter Sun

All mine

All mine. Signed, Bud

Our big Bud cat, ace sunsoaker, wants to be the headline for a change. He’s tired of being at the tail-end of posts about the creek, or art, or whatever. Here, impossibly handsome Bud basks in some January rays, on important papers. “Your research is mine, it’s in my sunny spot.”

Bud the smoothie

Bud the smoothie

“Say what? Food’s ready?” My husband and I don’t actually plan to argue with him, but if we really need for him to move, we can break out some canned food.

Budster gleaming

Budster gleaming

Magnificence by Bud, highlights by, Sun, ‘soft focus’ photo by Leah.

Bud gleams and dreams

Bud gleams and dreams

Bud’s dark fur looks black in many photos, but he is actually a deep sable brown, unusual for a street cat. Bright sunlight brings out his true coloration. Bud’s a sun seeker, like most cats. Alabama winter sun is gorgeous, when it bothers to show up.

Having appeased Bud’s pride – for now – I’ll depart for other projects. When I can shake free, or er – Bud gets a craving for attention, we’ll be back!

~  Leah

 

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Cat Topics, Cats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Cat in Winter Sun

  1. What a handsome model he is, too. 🙂
    Kathryn

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bud is a mighty handsome fellow!! Congrats.
    Hugs,
    O and om 🐱

    Like

  3. momfawn says:

    I just read Deb’s interview with you over a C-Dog & Co., and am so glad I came for a visit! Your blog is gorgeous, although I can’t imagine all that water overnight. Here in Central California we haven’t had that much rain all year! Thanks for sharing your kitties with the world. – Fawn

    Like

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for visiting, momfawn, and for your kind words! I’m going to further explore your blog whenever I get past some health matters. It’s so concerning about the water situation in California! We are having a bit too much rain here this spring and I wish I could send you some of our excess!

      Like

  4. nadbugs says:

    “Deep sable brown.” Yes! My Barney too. Is that unusual, for a street cat? Mind you, my Barney was picked up as a stray, but I bet he’s a Maine Coon. Doesn’t seem like a street cat to me. Glad to meet you, Budster!

    Like

  5. Thanks for the, Like, on I’m still around.

    Like

  6. animallogic says:

    Thank you for liking Just One. I adore Bud’s Photos; they are superb! X

    Like

  7. Anne says:

    He is such a handsome fella! Loved the pics!

    Like

  8. Thank you for following Elm Drive Images…we really appreciate it.

    Like

  9. Thanks for the, like, on Elm Drive Images, Blondie getting down From the Shelter.

    Like

  10. The grainy but fine detail in the cats whiskers really catches my eye!

    Like

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for stopping by! The focus is far from precise in the pictures, so I’m happy his whiskers are coming through; Bud also has white hairs appearing amidst his brown fur on one side of his muzzle, on the whisker pad. Those are catching the sunlight on that side. He’s nearing 14 years old.

      Like

  11. Steve says:

    What a cute cat and a nice post !

    Like

  12. Candace says:

    He’s a handsome guy and certainly deserves being a headliner.

    Like

  13. Touch2Touch says:

    First photo is really painterly, looks like a brush-and-oil portrait —

    Like

  14. betunada says:

    our most irasible character, Wall-dough, can’t resist lying down on the very newspaper we are trying to read …

    Like

  15. What a handsome boy–yes, it is time for Bud to be front and center!! 😉 I really like the first and last photos of him-you have definitely caught I am sure, some of the moods o’Bud-

    Like

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you, littledogslaughed, I’m happy when I can capture a small fraction of Bud’s expressions and moods! Bud loves to hear how handsome he is, so he thanks you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Tracy D. says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. Maui loves that you ‘liked’ the post about her 🙂 Great pics of Bud in the sun! He’s a beauty!

    Like

  17. Cate says:

    And the whiskers; the whiskers! Bud has it all going on. Thanks for sharing your appreciation.

    Like

  18. claire says:

    Nice cat pics! Cats sure know how to live don’t they (sometimes I like to emulate them and just bask in the sunshine). Hope you’re enjoying the first signs of spring appearing.

    Like

  19. Jim Davis says:

    That’s a nice looking cat you’ve got there Leah, enjoyed the post and photo’s!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.