Wisteria Storm, I Lose Track of Spring, Always Cats

The early days. The elegance of a single strand:

It looks so sweet and innocent

Wisteria looks so sweet and innocent

With a bonus bumblebee:

Caughtcha on camera, Mr. Bumble!

Caughtcha on camera, Mr. Bumble!

*Gasp* at the wisteria! After an off year when it was near nonexistent. I’ve heard it isn’t too good for the trees but they seem fine. The days turned a little coolish, so the fragrance intoxication wasn’t as intense as you’d expect.

Climbing tall

Climbing tall

Lavender and green mixing it up

Lavender and green mixing it up

Cloudy skies but it's still fun to get outside

Cloudy skies but it’s still fun to get outside

Ladderback woodpecker, through the haze of a window:

Ladderback Woodpecker doesn't know how close I am

Ladderback Woodpecker doesn’t know how close I am

Judas tree/crabapple:

Flowering crabapple AFAIK

Flowering crabapple AFAIK

Flowers in the sky

Flowers in the sky

Rained on violets:

Violets are my favorites!

Violets are my favorites!

but they were OK:

Fast purple

Fast purple

Madame Curious, opinionated feral, sounds off:

Madame Curious: “I told y’all this before!”

Madame Curious on the threshold. She’s now a contented house cat. I’ve seen feral cats slowly sweeten, so many times!

Madame Curious: “That fishy food is where?”

Spring checklist: Judas tree: check. Violets: check. Feral (?) cat: check. Bumble bees: careening fast, get out of their way! Honeybees: here thirty years ago, but gone for many years. Lizards and skinks: not seen this year. Wisteria: what’s got into those vines? Note: maybe ask someone who actually knows plants. I just live on their turf.

Lavender tangle:

Wisteria, 2015

Wisteria, 2015

Wisteria, 2015, #2 of, way too many to bother counting

Wisteria, 2015, #2 of, way too many to bother counting

Aloft in trees:

Reaching for the sky

Reaching for the sky

Packed in close!

Packed in close!

Two of these plumes are a differing shade of lavender from all the rest:

Intensity between lavender and violet

Intensity between lavender and violet

Grand and glorious, the petals began to fall:

On its way

On its way

With intact sweetgum seedpod from last autumn:

All seasons can be read on the ground

All seasons can be read on the ground

I was having a health issue since the early part of the year and it smacked me down while  petals foamed up, swelled, dropped. I felt so bad, when a tree frog landed on a window, I didn’t even get up to take photos. That’s normally a huge photo opp.

Feeling wistful and sad while snapping the treeline through the vehicle window. One moment when I could view with senses unclouded. Can’t say the same for the sky.

2015 very early spring

2015 partly cloudy, very early spring

Every spring while driving, there’s an instant we both recognize. When the glow on the trees reaches a certain intensity, it’s time to quote Robert Frost in 3, 2, 1 …  “Nature’s first green is gold, her hardest hue to hold … nothing gold can stay”. Shortly afterwards this year, I lost out on full spring.

Iris were sorta flat ‘n’ saggin’ by the time I got there. (I know it’s out of focus but I love the color.)

Weary

Weary

Folding

Folding

Iris … everywhere I look. LOL, a little joke.

Still beautiful

Still beautiful

The spiderwort were just leaving, rats!

“The blue flowers” are spiderwort

A few were still budding

A few were still budding

But, I got through, I’m better, and now there’s luscious crepe myrtle:

Summer brightens spirits

Summer brightens moods

My always purrtector, Bud. Lightbulb plus sunlight in room makes a tawny glow on … a cardboard box. Being a cat, he likes boxes.

My big grand fella, Bud

My big grand fella, Bud

Coming soon: Bugs

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Cats, Feral Cats, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Wisteria Storm, I Lose Track of Spring, Always Cats

  1. Bernadette says:

    Nice to hear from you. Very pretty “feral”!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. KiM says:

    I made the mistake of planting wisteria too close to the house. One we tracked in fallen blooms so I had to check every time so my cats couldn’t eat them and two we can’t seem to get it killed and it’s coming up thru the deck. That one pic of the flower in the stream is so peaceful. Nice seeing the cats too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Oh yeah, wisteria can be a problem when it gets too close. Ours isn’t yet but may be coming to get us! It can be trained into a bush but that would be much more pruning than I am capable of. I’d forgotten that wisteria is on the lists of plants toxic to cats. I’m glad you reminded me! Hope you can find a way to get it away from your house. Glad you enjoyed the photos!

      Like

  3. DS Levy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful photos with us, Leah. The colors are spectacular and put me in a mood of contemplation. Glad to see the kitties doing well — and also glad to read that you’re feeling so much better! Yay! Hope the summer is being good to you. D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Many thanks, I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos! Thought I better post the spring photos before fall is here, hahaha. Plus, I imagine when you saw this it had a snow scene for a header because WordPress lost the customized features last night. What a hoot! But time is flyin’!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cate says:

    Welcome back to the land of the-mostly-healthy-for-now! Thanks for sharing the joys of your return.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Timothy Price says:

    Love all the photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pawsome pictures!! 😺

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    Well that was just lovely! All that wisteria is so glorious!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love our nature, which I photograph too and most certainly our cats. Equal to human family members, as you saw in the post you kindly visited today. Missing a far too young boy for a year this July 31. Very sorry you have been missing your long-lived kitty since September. Expected, sudden, young, old; I’ve figured out that it’s the long wait to being reunited in the same form that is painful. My heart is with you, Leah.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you so much for your understanding and sympathy. I’m so sorry for your loss. You are very insightful and eloquent in your observations. I don’t cope with loss very well, and I never know what to say. Thank you also, for visiting my site.
      Warmest regards,
      Leah

      Liked by 1 person

      • I cope with loss painfully but do know what to say as do many of your followers. I wish I received 5 comments at my blog to every post. You’re welcome, Leah!

        One thing I learned this year is tha ta person doesn’t need to share our mammal = mammal love of cats. I ask them to think of any person they’d least iike to lose. That then, is our loss on July 31, 2014. I wish Love had your kitty’s 19 but still, that is 1/5 of our lifetime. I am only 42 and could live 58 more years before I see him and earlier loved-ones on equal ground. But! They would all want me to “have my turn”. That lifts my spirits too. You & I both have other cats with us right now, who have plenty left on their turns. *Hug!*

        Liked by 1 person

  9. arlingwoman says:

    Good to hear from your neck of the woods. I hope all is well now. The violets and the woodpecker are my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Doing much better now, thank you, though with a rare chronic illness I’ll never be in actual good health. Violets are some of my absolute favorite flowers. The woodpeckers and other birds only come down that low from the treetops at times when the berries are out. So, have not seen many birds recently.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Candace says:

    Glad you’re feeling better and are out and about, with camera in hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Good to see you posting again! Thanks for the lovely violet memories of spring/summer!!! Take care & wishing you many good days!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sunsetdragon says:

    How beautiful and what a wonderful place to be surrounded by so much beauty and beautiful smells.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What a lovely teatime visit with you (and the cats who own you)! I’m so glad to hear you’re finally feeling better. All of this beauty must have been highly curative. 🙂
    Kathryn

    Liked by 1 person

  14. chattykerry says:

    What a feast of lilac – wonderful photos. Madame Curious is adorable. Our oriental won’t stop talking and I don’t know where the volume control is…

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Finally, a moment to comment. I read this while visiting my grandmother who was recently admitted into a rehab nursing home. The photography and writing lifted my spirits. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. RMW says:

    My cat Pharoah: I describe him as a feral cat trying very hard to be domesticated. I’ve had him for a decade and he is still trying. If he had a choice I know he would be an affectionate lap cat but it’s never going to happen. I appreciate him for who he is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      RMW, thank you so much for telling me about your kitty! I’m so familiar with looking into the eyes of a cat who sees that you mean no harm, but just can’t quite make the transition to house living or being a snuggler. It’s wonderful that you continue to nurture Pharoah and let him be who he is!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. pussycats3 says:

    Gorgeous photos. I favorite irises, and your photo is so beautiful. Wisteria, also. All, actually. Mr. Bud is a real good-looker!! Thanks for liking my blog. Will follow yours. Really nice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. What a wealth of beauty in these photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. treerabold says:

    A beautiful read….and lovely photos to accompany.
    (I love wisteria. It stays for such a short time here in Texas)

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Mary Rowen says:

    Such beautiful pictures. I never knew those little blues were called spiderwort, but they’re so beautiful. And that woodpecker! Thank you for sharing all of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      My pleasure, Mary. Thank you for viewing and commenting. I was lucky that day in spring when the woodpecker was here, that it stayed long enough for me to get photos. Today I’ve had a cardinal and a brown thrasher land on the same place but they flew off almost immediately.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

