A Sad Goodbye to Our Bud

budspan6 copy2

MochaBud 2001 – 2017

Bud left us a week ago. He was 16 years old and had been in kidney failure for a long time, but he was doing well on medication. But when he suddenly became really ill, and the vets told us there could be no meaningful recovery, we had to release him. Rest in peace my big, beautiful, beast of a boy. You will always be in our hearts.

Bud trilled to me in his last days although he had never been a triller. He edited valiantly and ferociously up until the last. Now I have to press on with bookwork without an Editing Cat. I’ll continue, hoping he is somewhere at the Rainbow Bridge freting over the work, trying to get his opinions across to me. It may take me some time to answer comments, my heart is so heavy.

Bud will stand sentinel for me here while I work on the book.

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Book topics, Cat Topics, Cats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

144 Responses to A Sad Goodbye to Our Bud

  1. Oh no! How did I miss this??? I am so sorry. It’s devastating when our little buddies go. I loved his editing and his gentle presence xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. angela1313 says:

    Like Claudia I have not been able to keep up as much as I’d like. I am very sorry for your loss. As I’m working on a master’s thesis your beautiful words reminded me of my late Siamese Mosby. He loved to sit on the desk as I worked and I called him “the office boy”. Bud was very handsome and I’m sure he inspired you. I hope he will continue to do so from the Rainbow Bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for your kind words and sympathy, angela1313, and for telling me about your kitty, Mosby. I’m so sorry your loss, too. Bud is very happy you said he is handsome, he loves to hear that. All best wishes, Leah

      Like

  3. Claudia says:

    Because I don’t come in to read as often as I should, it took me until now to come and read your posts. I am so sorry about Bud. I had a cat Jasmine whom I loved dearly and lived to 15. She just gently faded on my bed one day, one that I was away at work. At least my husband was here. I felt bad for a long time. I have two cats now, a grey tux and a wildly looking one. But Jasmine was my girl. Keep all those great memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you so much Claudia, we appreciate your sympathy. I’m so sorry about Jasmine, it really is hard to let go of our pets and peace and comfort takes a long time. No worries about time of reading, I am having a hard time getting around myself and I have to breeze by quickly these days.

      Like

  4. So sorry to hear about Bud. Cats are without a doubt my favourite pets so I understand Bud’s passing is difficult. My favourite cat Chester was hit by a car, I’ll never forget that day. He was such a gorgeous cat, so full of character and life. It was a very sad day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robin says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that your beloved Bud has died. Reading this has brought tears to my eyes. How sweet your time was with him, your ever helpful editor. Condolences on your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Meanderer says:

    So sorry to hear that. Sending warm wishes to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. inesephoto says:

    Oh Bud, I am so sorry. Run free!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So sorry to be late in seeing your post about Bud. My sincerest heartfelt sympathies go out to you for your loss. These precious animals come into our lives for such a relatively short time and leave permanent paw prints on our hearts. May you find comfort at this difficult time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nwolitzer says:

    I am very sorry for the loss of your beloved Bud. Thank you for liking the paintings in my Ocean Series and for becoming a follower. Best wishes, Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  10. shewrite63 says:

    Sorry for you loss. I often wonder how I will take it when one of my cats has to go over Rainbow Bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. charlotteash says:

    Omigosh, I am so sorry to read this news. It’s so heartbreaking and hard to lose a beloved pet. You and Bud were fortunate to have each other for 16 years. Light and love to you and yours. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Charlotte, thank you so much for your kind words! You are right, it does break the heart to lose them, but we must treasure the memories over the years we had together. All good wishes to you in return, xo, hugs.

      Like

  12. awax1217 says:

    Alice and I understand the pain of losing a great cat. For us it was Morris. He was a cat who acted human. Never scratched us and rarely gave us anything negative. We really miss him. We have other cats but they just do not measure up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Barry, for your kind sympathy. I am sorry you and Alice lost your Morris. Those really sweet cats do make a huge impression on the heart. All cats are different, and Bud was a large, opinionated, guy who acted almost like a bobcat at times, lol. We absolutely adored him, wildcat manners and all.

      Like

  13. iArtichokeu says:

    I’m so sorry. I hope you’re doing well. It’s been over a month now? Hope time is healing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for your kind words and sympathy. We are doing better but will miss our Bud forever.
      Thank you for following my site. I don’t know why but your comment was caught in the filter; that’s why it took some time to publish. Your site looks interesting; I like your firefly-based rating system.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. eurobrat says:

    My condolences. So, so hard to lose a furbaby.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ginnietom says:

    on every occasion a great loss! your cover picture gone over the rainbow-bridge…sooo sad 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties says:

    I’m so very sorry about your Bud. ~Margret

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. M. K. Waller says:

    I’m sorry to hear you lost your Buddy. It’s hard to lose a friend of so many years, and a writing partner. It’s small consolation now, but they never really leave us, you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Joyful2bee says:

    Oh Sweetheart. My heart is broken for you. Losing one of our pets is something we all think about and realize it will happen but never when we expected it. I highly recommend a book by Jon Katz. The book “Going Home:Finding Peace When Pets Die.”
    He has had several pets die and has felt their presence. He also said animals are not afraid of death. They go somewhere special and wait until someone else needs them. I loved the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Joyful2bee, for your kind words and sympathy. You are certainly right, we are never ready, I knew Bud was ill but we really thought we would have him longer. I appreciate the book recommendation, that does sound like an interesting book to read. I will have to wait until I get all the work done on my book I hope to get out soon. Due to health problems I am limited in how fast I can do things each day.

      Like

  20. Garfield Hug says:

    Sorry for your loss of Bud. Take careπŸ€—πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Catwoods says:

    Thank you for your kind message, Pazlo, we appreciate your presence and thoughts. Love and good wishes in return.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Pazlo says:

    My belated Chuy wrote:

    All of my life I’ve been told “Thunder can’t hurt you.”, but that never stopped me from being terrified by it.
    Spare people such senseless jabber.
    Hold them, and tell them “I’m right here.”.
    It is truly the only solace you can provide.

    For you and Bud,
    I’m right here.

    Love,

    Paz

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I’m so deeply sorry for your loss. Fly free beautiful Soul❀ Soft Pawkisses to comfort you❀❀❀

    Liked by 1 person

  24. icelandpenny says:

    I know. My Racket was 20, doing so well, for so long, and then, suddenly… not. It was time. But he is with me still.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. RMW says:

    He had a great and fulfilled life. Not many cats are able to achieve their dream of becoming an editor.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. So very sorry for your loss ❀ Loosing a friend is hard, even if he had a good, long life. Treasure the good memories ❀ We'll miss him too. xx

    Like

  27. Chandra Lynn says:

    So sorry for your loss. Sending hugs…

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Candace says:

    Oh, no, I’m so sorry about Bud, such a handsome boy. I’ve had kitties with kidney disease. You’re right, it can be managed for awhile but one day it’s evident there is nothing left to do. You gave him the final gift. RIP, Bud.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. I’m so sorry to hear of Bud’s passing…I do believe his spirit will visit you often and he will be busy editing away right with you. Sending love and light.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for your kind and comforting words, CatLadyintheCanyon. Sometimes I do feel the Bud guy’s presence. Good wishes, love and light going out to you in return.

      Like

  30. DS Levy says:

    Leah, I am so very, very sorry for your loss. I could always tell just by looking at Bud’s photos (and he was such a good-looking fellow to look at) that he was very special kitty indeed. I understand how things can be managed so well for so long, and then one day suddenly changed–that happened with our cats as well. Glad to read that Bud was helping you edit right up to the end. He will be very proud of your books when you get them out–and they will be quite an honor to Bud. Thinking of you and yours in this difficult time. xo, Deb

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Deb, thank you so much for all your kind and encouraging words and sympathy. Bud would be so pleased that you think he’s good-looking! I’m so sorry that you’ve had to go through pet losses too. As you say, sometimes they do well and then take a sudden turn for the worse. xo and best wishes always, Leah

      Like

  31. Joyful2bee says:

    Such a beautiful boy. If you haven’t already look up the books by Jon Katz, especially the one “Saying Goodbye .” He wrote about dogs, cats, a donkey, a steer and even a rooster. He spoke of feeling the pet’s presence and messages the dog or cat taught him about how animals perceive death. He said they do not fear it. They can visit you sometimes and they are all here to fulfill a need or to teach us something. Then they go on. They may come back to help someone else later. Another book of his was “Talking to Animals: How You Can Understand Animals and They Can Understand You. ” I think the other one will give you great comfort and this one too. Hang in there. He is with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Joyful2bee, for your kind words of sympathy and your comforting message. We really do appreciate. Thank you also for the book suggestions, those do sound like good books and I will probably read them in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  32. 2ndhalfolife says:

    I’m so sorry to hear. Your loved one is now in the Summerland…xo

    Liked by 1 person

  33. niasunset says:

    I am so sad to hear this, I can’t stop my tears. Maybe you know, our Princess has kidney problem too. We try to keep well by the vet… But the story will be same for us too. They can’t do more. I am so sad dear friend, but Bud’s memories will be be with you always, even with us too.

    Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughts, Nia. I am so sad and sorry that your Princess has kidney trouble also. The medications did help Bud to have a lot more quality time and I hope that will the same for Princess. Sweet memories do sustain us and help us cope with loss. Wishing you all good things and much love in return, Leah.

      Liked by 1 person

  34. toutparmoi says:

    So sad to read of the loss of your trusty friend and editor. Our old companions carry so many of our memories for us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you for your kind sympathy, tourparmoi, we appreciate it. Indeed holding onto the memories is a way we cope, and it certainly does help to bring to mind so many details from the past.

      Liked by 1 person

  35. cat9984 says:

    I’m so sorry about Bud. I enjoy reading his editing comments. A most cat-like cat

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Oh, so very sorry for the loss of such a dear friend. It takes forever for the pain to subside. It never really goes away. Wishing you happy memories of your Bud always. Hugs, ellen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Ellen, thank you so much for your kind words and sympathy. As you say I try to hold onto the memories and treasure them, that’s the only way I can get through. Hugs and good wishes to you in return.

      Liked by 1 person

  37. arlingwoman says:

    I’m so sorry. I’ll miss seeing him in your posts! But for you who had him to stroke (and edit for you) in the past 16 years, it must be very hard.

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Please accept my deepest sympathy.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Lavinia Ross says:

    I am saddened by the loss of your Bud kitty, Catwoods. It is painful when our animal companions leave us for the Rainbow Bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Our deepest sympathies on the loss of your beloved Bud. Hope you can take comfort in the many years of memories you’ll always have in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Mollie Hunt says:

    Losing a beloved cat is heartbreaking. Goodbye sweet Bud. Thank you for sharing him.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. We are very sad to hear about Bud. I did not think about him being so old. Please keep Catwoods Porch Party going at least in his memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you greg, we appreciate your kind sympathy. I do plan to keep this site going, in Bud’s memory, and in memory of all the others before him. And one day, I don’t know when, we do hope to adopt another kitty. As usual we will post at a slow pace though, so I won’t update for awhile. All best wishes to you.

      Liked by 2 people

  43. I am so sorry. It is very hard to lose an old friend like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  44. joss8088 says:

    Very sorry to read this. He was such a handsome cat and I always admired your photos of him. Condolences.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. chattykerry says:

    Oh Leah – I am so sad. Bud was a part of all your followers lives but he had a long and happy time on this earth. I hope he has met Mrs. Stripe (who was such a flirt) and crazy Zhenny over the rainbow. I feel your sorrow. Much love Kerry xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Lauren says:

    Leah, I am so sorry. I apprehend your pain. I had to get Effie–she was such a providence–the same day Coolidge departed from his renal failure and our world. You will know when the time is right for a new Editor. Take care, Friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Lauren, we really appreciate your kind words and thoughts. And I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your Coolidge. We hope a new Editor is on the horizon, but I don’t know when. All good wishes to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lauren says:

        Coolidge lived to be 17. He was diabetic for his last 9 years, and hyperthyroid on top of that for his last two. He succumbed to chronic renal failure that lasted most of his final year. He passed in my arms at home, at 3:45 in the morning. I’d been sleeping on the floor next to him and I sensed a change in his breathing . But we’d had 17 good years together. His diabetes and thyroid were simple for me to treat. The CRF was the nightmare, but it didn’t endure so long. We adopted young, healthy, active Effie that evening without regrets. Like you, I needed a companion editor! ^-.-^

        Liked by 1 person

        • Catwoods says:

          We managed diabetes in one of our cats, too, Lauren, and it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I think it was good that you got your new editor right away, and will do that when possible but things are just busy right now.

          Like

  47. nananoyz says:

    I’m so sorry. Our cats are our babies.

    Liked by 1 person

  48. catsworking says:

    Leah, we are so very, very sorry to hear about Bud’s passing. We are no strangers to kidney failure here at Cats Working, having lost our dear Cole nearly two years ago when he was only 9. Take comfort in the fact that Bud had a long, productive life and knew every day that he was loved. His spirit will always be with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  49. weggieboy says:

    Never easy…. RIP, kitty. Bud, RIP.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. Sweet Bud…my heart goes out to you all. No words are adequate… xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Our deepest condolences.

    Liked by 1 person

  52. Cate says:

    So very sorry to hear of Bud’s passing. All of us who have been through the loss of a beloved animal are with you today in sadness, and wishing Bud the best on the next phase of his journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  53. John says:

    beautiful looking fellow…glad he could bring so much joy to your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  54. greenpete58 says:

    We lost one of our two cats, Alex, a couple weeks ago. We’d had him about 14 years. He and I weren’t very close, but with all those years and memories, there’s a little tug at the heart. Sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  55. So sorry to hear of your loss. I could “hear” you working from afar. We have four cats now that our Ralph-Monster offered his own good-bye the week before last year’s November elections. Kidney issues, too. He was part Siamese. Big hug.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Sharony, for your kind thoughts and words, we appreciate it. I have been inspired by reading of your thoughts and your travels every day. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your Ralph-Monster. Hugs in return.

      Like

  56. Herman says:

    So sorry to read this sad news about Bud. It is always so painful when you have to say goodbye to a loved pet. Wishing you lots of strength. My thoughts are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  57. So sorry, hugs and thoughts πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  58. zdunno03 says:

    Sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  59. Timothy Price says:

    So sorry to hear you lost Bud. It’s so hard to lose our trusty companions and editors. Rosencrantz, now 17, is the last of our Y2K cats. He has kidney issues, also, so I have to give him subcu fluids every night (we call it waterboarding).

    Liked by 1 person

  60. Lesley says:

    Bud was an amazing cat, and better yet a loving companion to you. Hugs for your family, we are thinking of you. Steve, Lesley, and Kozy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Steve, Lesley, and Kozy, we thank you so much for your kind words and thoughts! I’ve been so busy, but I hope to get around the internet soon and catch up with everyone. Return hugs to you!

      Like

  61. So very sorry for your loss. It’s so hard to lose a dear feline friend. Cherish the memories. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

