Troubling Times Bring Bud Back from the Beyond

Looking through old pictures, I feel a warmth. Bud, is that you?

Solar Bud

“Purrrrr …. hey, even I sorta like that one.”

“You in October light last year, remember?”

Blink.

I blink back.

Spectral Bud

“Gah! I’m supposed to be at the Rainbow Bridge, not wearing it!”

“I need cheering up.”

“Purrrrrrrr”

“Well, here’s an unretouched picture.”

Bud the Editing Cat

“Ruhruhruhruh, MEOW! I look regal!”

Bud knows a trick or two

“RAWR, that is so court jester!”

“Uh, how do you know about court jesters?”

“You think I was going to let that Complete Works of Shakespeare just sit there while you were asleep?”

Bud reclining on purple

“I miss us. Lounging around on chilly winter days.”

“Me too.”

“But I’m really always with y’all.”

“We know, but, sigh …”

Bud sees deeply and clearly into the human heart

“You seem sad, troubled. It’s Charlottesville, isn’t it.”

“Yeah … ”

“All the animals at the Rainbow Bridge are upset and want to know, what the heck? We’re all checking on our humans. You were demonstrating for peace, love, and nonviolence in the 60s, amiright?”

“The 60s were way before you were a kitten. So how … ?”

Bud with pizazz

“Oh I went through all your old photo albums while you were napping. Lots of 60s pics,   and I was also impressed by the number of cat pictures. Y’all humans need lots more peace, love, and nonviolence and big girlfriend, you’re too activity-limited now to be in demonstrations, or even online as much as before, but your heart still can’t rest.”

“I’m heartsick.”

“The cats where I’m at now had good chances to study their humans for a long time. I mean, you know we’re always watching. Cats know humans are social, they should all get along. So why don’t they? Why are there hate groups?  We don’t get it.”

“We and our friends, we don’t get it either, Buddy. We love all humans, and animals too.”

“Well, we’re still watching. Keep trying. Stay hopeful. That’s all I know to say. I have to go, but I’ll be back to check on you.”

Bud begins to fade back to the rainbow bridge

“Please don’t go … I need to tell you we plan to get another cat, I’m catless and forlorn without you.”

“Phsssst. I said I’m always with you.”

“Well, yes, but,”

“Don’t you be lettin’ any new cat scratch my edits! Phsssst.”

Always in our hearts, purrrrrr

“You haven’t changed. Wait, don’t go … ”

“I can’t stay, but I do stay. Purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.”

August, with gloom

The room cools, the sun slants and glows. Even in the forest, peace and comfort feel far away.

(It may take me some time to publish and answer comments because, eclipse, and I have energy deficits and a giant to-do list.)

About Catwoods

I'm a writer fascinated by the natural world and animals, especially cats.
This entry was posted in Cat Topics, Cats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Troubling Times Bring Bud Back from the Beyond

  1. I love the colorful blanket prop. Really pops against the black fur.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you catsdogsharmony, I’m happy you enjoyed the pictures! I tend to choose colors I think might enhance the cats, when I’m looking for blankies that will be comfortable for them.

      Like

  2. chrisscatmeow says:

    I always wonder why humans argue and fight we only have one life here on earth make the most of it. Such a gorgeous puss brings tears to my eyes why we have to lose something so precious to us.x😿😻💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you chriscatmeow, for you sympathy and insights and solidarity. Why indeed do humans waste their chances for harmony and peace. Bud would be pleased that you think he is gorgeous; we are missing our big beautiful boy so much, but I know they don’t live as long as we do, so I tell myself that; I’m missing so many.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Candace says:

    Yes, it’s a sad world now, isn’t it? Natural disasters and disasters of our making. I’m glad our Rainbow Bridge animals are trying to intervene. We need all the help we can get.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      I agree things are so sad now. Since I have a little age on me I had expected to see improvements that now don’t seem to be there. Sometimes I hope, or at least tell myself, that things may be better than they seem because positive changes don’t always make the news. That may be illusion though. Much work yet to be done.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. airgid says:

    Love this one Leah – so sweet and intimate and thoughtful. Made me cry. But I also LOVED Bud’s comment, “I’m supposed to be AT the Rainbow Bridge, not wearing!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you airgid, I’m very happy that you enjoyed it and I appreciate your thoughts so much. I wasn’t sure about this one, the ghost conversation was sort of new to me.

      Like

  5. Robin says:

    Sweet Bud. And sweet banter. Miss you here. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. RMW says:

    I have a photo of my beloved Friday (19915 – 2013) behind my desk… he is peering out of the laundry basket. He was my best friend for all those years. But fortunately two other cats insisted on adopting me. Never forgotten, but life goes on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      I’m so sorry you lost Friday, RMW, and thanks for your kind words. I know new cats are a comfort, and I will soon have an announcement to make along those lines. They do stay with you as you continue on.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lavinia Ross says:

    Bud was a beautiful cat. They are good teachers.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Léa says:

    A lovely tribute to a wise and beautiful feline. He was unique and has trained you well. mademoiselle Colette and madame Simone, oh yes, our human as well… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. catsworking says:

    I have cats who watch over the current crew and who are waiting over the Rainbow Bridge for me. I will be thrilled when we all can be one happy family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      I know you must miss them every day, catsworking. We have many there at the Rainbow Bridge and they are always in our thoughts. They have that kind of effect on people. All the best, Leah

      Liked by 1 person

  10. It goes to show you that they are always with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. chattykerry says:

    What a thoughtful post, Leah! I think there may be a small positive side to the march – these awful Neo-Nazis were always in the shadows but now we know that we really have to get rid of hate in this country. As for Bud, I am in empathy with you today. My car is being serviced and I tidied my filing cabinet. I finally shredded all the veterinary bills and notes for Mrs. Stripe and Zhenny but kept their vaccination discs. Toffee has only seen the vet three times in 13 years – and is becoming a demanding only child. I am sure that Mrs. Stripe is flirting with Bud at the Rainbow Bridge. 🐱😻

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cate says:

    What a handsome boy. This touched me as I remember the animals I’ve loved who are no longer here in body but — I hope, and sometimes feel — in spirit. In solidarity with you. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Cate, for your kind and encouraging words. I am sorry about the losses of your animals. I have many at the Rainbow Bridge also and still miss them. It’s good to hear from you and others in solidarity!

      Like

  13. Mollie Hunt says:

    Bud is wise. Yes, to new cat. Hope is not dead, just submerged. Love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you Mollie, Bud is very pleased that you think he is wise! New cat is going to come about somehow, maybe not quickly, but in the future for sure. I am cautiously hopeful, too. Thank you for your encouraging message! ❤ and {{hugs}} in return.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Timothy Price says:

    I’m often looking through old photos and come across pics of our kitties who have passed on, and it makes us sad and nostalgic. But at least we have to photos to see them and remember them — that makes us happy.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Catwoods says:

      Tim, we also find the photos of our past kitties helpful in a finding a comfort, it has longing in it but still helps us keep sweet memories. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 2 people

  15. These events are so awful, but I am feeling heartened by seeing the number of people (and cats!) who share my sorrow and who want our world to be a more peaceful and tolerant place. Thank you for this post.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Catwoods says:

      Thank you TextileRanger, we too are finding some solace in the numbers of people who are standing up for peaceful, inclusive ways and a better world. Thank you for your encouraging message, it really does help.

      Liked by 2 people

  16. Lauren says:

    Leah and Bud,

    Thank you for letting me tap into your dialogue. Your candid coloquy is very touching and authentic. I loved it.
    ❤ ^-.-^

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.